Video Details

KUED's We Shall Remain: The Navajo

Grade Levels: 6 - 12
Core Subject(s): Social Studies
Length: 00:29:20
Usage rights: Download and retain personal copies in perpetuity.

Availability information for this program

They call themselves Diné, which means The People. To the rest of the world they are known as Navajo. Creation stories tell of struggle and evolution through three spiritual worlds, and finally emergence into this world and their present homeland, Dinetah. A homeland defined by four scared mountains; Mt. Blanca in central Colorado, Mt. Taylor in New Mexico, the San Francisco Peaks in Arizona, and Mt. Hesperus in southwestern Colorado. It is an area covering 25,000 square miles and the largest reservation in the United States. Its landscape includes national treasures such as Monument Valley and Canyon de Chelly.



eMedia programs can be viewed online or downloaded by logging in to the eMedia website.